Former Champions Planning To Race in Sept. 21 SVRA VROC

Southlake, TX — Two champions of the Le Mans 24 Hours — Davy Jones and Geoff Brabham — have filed entries for the Sportscar Vintage Racing Association’s (SVRA) Sept. 21 Vintage Race of Champions (VROC) Charity Pro-Am presented by Chopard Watch at Virginia International Raceway. The race is part of SVRA’s Sept. 19-22 Heacock Classic Gold Cup.

Brabham wheeling this 1969 A-Prod Chevrolet Corvette in the VROC Feature Race at IMS. Photo: Bill Stoler (Vintage Motorsport)

SVRA announced Tuesday that Jones and Brabham had entered. The Charity Pro-Am is the deciding round of the VROC series and both legendary drivers feel they have unfinished business. Jones is the points leader in the chase for the B Production championship and Brabham looked like a sure winner last month at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway round of the series before mechanical maladies with his A Production Corvette dashed his chances. Get the full weekend race schedule.


Brabham — who began racing Formula Fords in Australia in 1973 and won the 1975 Australian Formula 2 championship and the 1979 Formula Super Vee championship — was the star driver of the dominant Nissan team that won four successive IMSA GTP championships from 1988 through 1991. During that time, he scored 27 overall victories while also winning the 1993 24 Hours of Le Mans, the 1989 and 1991 12 Hours of Sebring and the 1981 Can-Am series championship. Active in the Indy car series during the 1980s as well, Brabham recorded eight podium finishes and 31 top tens. He is a 10-time starter in the Indianapolis 500, with a best finish of fourth in 1983.

Jones first gained notice when he placed third in the 1983 British Formula 3 championship behind Ayrton Senna. He later competed in the New Zealand Formula Atlantic series, winning that country’s grand prix in 1984 and 1987. In 1986 he scored BMW McLaren’s only IMSA GTP victory at Watkins Glen. Jones brought home the overall win in both the 1996 24 Hours of Le Mans and the 1990 24 Hours of Daytona. In an Indy car career spanning nine seasons, including six Indianapolis 500s, his best finish came when he finished second in 1996.

Other pro drivers who have filed to race in the event are NASCAR champions Todd Bodine, Johnny Benson, Bobby Labonte, Mike Skinner and Wally Dallenbach, Jr.

The VROC Charity Pro-Am — open to cars from 1963-1972 of SVRA Group 6 A and B Production — will benefit IGNITE — the Autism Society of North Carolina’s community center for young adults with high-functioning autism or Asperger’s syndrome.